[PRESS RELEASE] Seoul Drama Awards 2022 Announcement of K-drama Actor and Actress/Asian Stars chosen by fans around the world

  • Admin
  • 2022-10-04
  • Views 8,770

Seoul Drama Awards 2022 Announcement of K-drama Actor and Actress/Asian Stars chosen by fans around the world

Award winners Kim Seon-Ho and Jisoo for 'Outstanding Korean Actor and Actress’, Lim Young-Woong for the 'Outstanding O.S.T’ in the Korean (Hallyu) Drama category

'Outstanding Asian Star' award winners were also revealed with the highest votes in 6 countries(regions), including Kang Daniel from Korea 

[Press Release : 2022-09-08]

The Seoul Drama Awards Organizing Committee (Chairman: Kim Eui-Chul) and Neowiz Corp. announced the winners of this year's 'Outstanding Korean Actor and Actress' in Korean Drama, 'Outstanding O.S.T,’ and 'Outstanding Asia Stars' selected by global fans on Wednesday, September 7th.


In the Korean (Hallyu) Drama category, △ Kim Seon-Ho (tvN <Hometown Cha-Cha-Cha>, produced by Studio Dragon) won the 'Outstanding Korean Actor' award with more than half of the votes (53.4%). Kim Seon-Ho, the leading male character in <Hometown Cha-Cha-Cha> not only caused the ‘Gaetcha Syndrome’ in Korea but also ranked 3rd in the Netflix world, widening the reach of K-dramas' publicization. △The 'Outstanding Korean Actress' award went to Jisoo (JTBC <Snowdrop>, produced by SLL). Jisoo was appraised for playing the bright character of the role of Eun Yeong-Ro with 41.6% of the votes.


Determining the best O.S.T among Korean Dramas, △the 'Outstanding O.S.T' award was given to 'Love always run away' sung by Lim Young-Woong in KBS <Young Lady and Gentleman> (produced by G&G Production). Lim Young-Woong received a remarkable vote rate of 59.53%. Thanks to the popularity of the O.S.T by Lim Young-Woong and the passionate performances of the leading players, KBS <Young Lady and Gentleman> also set a record for TV rating with 38.2% according to Nielsen Korea.


The 'Outstanding Asia Star' awards were selected by 6 Asian countries/regions (Korea, China, Japan, Thailand, Philippines, and Taiwan). Here, △Kang Daniel from Korea (Disney+, <Rookie Cops>) with 45.00%, △Wallace Chung from China (YOUKU/< Because of Love>) with 45.37%, △Yusei Yagi from Japan (Mainichi Broadcasting System/<My Beautiful Man>) with 69.70%, △Krit Amnuaydechkorn from Thailand (Nadao Bangkok/<I Promised You the Moon>) with 87.86%, △Belle Mariano from the Philippines (ABS-CBN Corporation/<He's into Her>) with 62.34%, and △Alice Ko from Taiwan (Three Phoenixes Production/<Rainless Love in a Godless Land>) with 38.17% of votes ranked the first in each country/region.


This voting was held for a month in August through IDOLCHAMP, a voting application (co-developed by Neowiz Corp. and MBC PLUS Co., Ltd.), which has secured 8 million fandom users around the world. The awards ceremony will be held live on September 22nd, Thursday from 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM on KBS 2TV.


The Seoul Drama Awards is the first drama-specialized global awards ceremony organized by the Republic of Korea in 2006 to unite people all over the world. It strives to enrich related industries and is sponsored by the Korean Ministry of Culture, Sports, and Tourism, the Seoul Metropolitan Government, MBC, SBS, EBS, and CBS.


The 17th Seoul Drama Awards will be held offline for the first time in 3 years since the corona pandemic. Starting with the O.S.T concert on September 17th (Saturday), side events such as GV screenings on the 21st (Wednesday), award ceremonies, and other celebrations will be held on the 22nd (Thursday).